
Errata 
Jena (as of January 15th, 1998) 
 
The Counters: 
(correction) Louis' Saxon horse artillery should have an organizational marking of 'LF" like all the other 
units of Louis' command. 
Saxe-Weimes Prussian heavy cavalry brigade should have an organizational marking of 'SW.' 
 
The Rules: 
5.21 Roads, Trails, and Highways (clarification): 
Where the charts refer to Roads and Trails, the rules refer to Highways and Roads. 
 
5.22 Light Artillery and Streams (commentary): 
I only included the larger streams on the Jena map. Now it's true a brook that you can easily step over 
could cause your average 6-pounder to immediately drop its wheels to the felsengrund, which in turn 
would bury the muzzle in the opposite bank. The jolt of it would break the connection where the carriage 
meets the caisson, if the caisson survived and the team didn't break their legs. 
 
In no way can you manhandle a 12-pounder, or even a 6-pounder in this situation. It requires block and 
tackle and a large lever. Crossing a major stream effectively under fire takes really special troops. What 
both sides would do is level each bank so you no longer had this sudden drop of two feet or so. They 
would have torn down a nearby building and used its materials to fill-in or bridge across the brook. The 
French, at least, can do this in Jena since they have an engineer/pontoon unit. As you've read in the 
historical commentary, however, the Prussian Bridging Train was captured around Naumburg on the 
13th; nowhere near the main body of the Prussian Army. That's why I didn't include it in the game. 
 
Regimental guns such as 2 and 3-pounders were factored into the infantry unit strengths (and there 
weren't any 4-pounders around, most of your horse batteries at this time were armed with 8-pounders). In 
fact, in the French army units had many Austrian cannon they had collected the year before, and these 
were even more cumbersome. The only time during the Napoleonic Wars that guns were standardized in 
size and uniformly deployed was during the Waterloo campaign - and only for the Army of the North at 
that. One of the errors that arise of taking Waterloo as a typical battle of the era. 
 
So while crossing a small brook is impossible, say in the time of a La Bataille series game turn, many 
such brooks aren't even included in Jena because of the relative difference in scale. 
 
7.0 Zones of Influence: 
(question) During the movement phase can cavalry charge opposing cavalry units? A strict reading of the 
rules would suggest that the answer is no - as if you are in a "Zone of Influence" you cannot charge and 
all the cavalry have such a zone. 
 
(answer) Any unit (including cavalry) adjacent to an enemy cavalry unit is pinned by the cavalry unit's 
zone of influence. So, no, cavalry cannot charge adjacent cavalry, though it may attack in the Combat 
Phase. 
 
(interpretation) Cavalry charging cavalry results in melee, which - as I chose to interpret the situation - is 
an attack. (Of course, you interject that cavalry charging anything will result in melee, and therefore, is an 
attack also.) However, the charge rules are intended to show the ability of cavalry to effect events more 
quickly than infantry or artillery, thus this action of charging occurs during the-movement phase and is 
not necessarily restricted to one attempt per stack. Cavalry's ability to do this is relative to this advantage 
over slower combat arms. Cavalry charging cavalry no longer exhibits this relative difference. So that in 



this case it stops and resolves its conflict in the Combat phase. Thus, one thing that differentiates cavalry 
from other arms is its ability to prevent cavalry charges. 
 
(question) If a stack adjacent to several enemy stacks wishes to attack only one of they, may it do so, or 
must it attack all adjacent stacks? Do ZOIs exerted by enemy units affect this? 
 
(answer) At this scale no one is forced to attack anyone. Attacking is optional, so yes, it may ignore the 
other stacks. You bring up an interesting condition, however. I can see a rule developing wherein the 
option to attack is prioritized. And that a unit may not attack one unit if it is in the ZOI of another. 
 
10.0 The EXC Result and Artillery (clarification): 
Artillery may never attack or be part of a counterattacking stack. If Artillery is alone in a hex that is 
attacked, and an EXC is the result, then the result is automatically changed to EX*. 
 
10.32 Casualty Priorities (clarification): 
In the event more than one hex of combat units is attacking the same hex, and there are multiple casualties 
as a result of attack (or if there are multiple casualties in the accumulated rounds of combat), players 
should alternate the stacks from which the casualties are removed. The priorities for removing casualties 
should then be: 
1. Alternate hexes 
2. Highest Morale 
3. Order in which the counters occupy the hex. 
 
10.5 Cavalry Retreat Before Combat (addition): 
Cavalry that wish to retreat before combat may only do so before an attacking force of infantry and/or 
artillery if they are not in an enemy ZOI and if they succeed in an initiative check. Cavalry that wish to 
retreat before combat in the face of enemy cavalry may do so if they make a successful die roll based on 
the cumulative difference between their movement potential and the pinning cavalry's movement 
potential, and the difference between their compared morale values. 
 
Example: A light cavalry unit with a morale of 4, attempting to avoid combat with a line cavalry unit with 
a morale of 3, would have a difference in morale of 1, plus a difference in movement potential of 1. The 
light cavalry unit, then may retreat if it rolls 2 or less. 
 
11.02 Mist (clarification) 
Restrictions during these turns only apply to units that are moving voluntarily. Units may still move 
involuntarily (retreat) into non-road/highway hexes. Units, however, may not attack or advance into non-
road hexes. 
 
12.22 Prussian Disintegration Procedure 
(question): A Prussian Division shatters when all the steps of its regular infantry component are lost. An 
army group disintegrates when three or more divisions/korps are shattered. When an army group 
disintegrates all divisions shatter and all Saxon units are removed from play. Does a division with only 
Saxon regular infantry remain permanently shattered after disintegration? Does this mean the red army 
group can never be reconstituted after disintegration. 
 
(answer): Yes. 
 
13.11 French Leader Command Radius (change): 
When tracing the Command Radius of a French leader along a road or trail, City and Fortified Town 
hexes do not count as 1/2 a hex. 



 
13.24 Prussian Divisional Leaders 
(question): When you roll for a Prussian Korps leader to see if they are in command does the result apply 
to units in command range? Or if you fail can a division in command range of the Prussian Army Leader 
still move towards its Command marker? 
 
(answer): If they move under orders, yes. 
 
13.26 Prussian Command Procedure (amendment): 
The 4th sentence is amended as follows: "Divisions that are in command through 'Orders," if they move, 
must move towards this Command Assembly Marker (CAM) by the shortest path possible; etc." 
 
13.28 Ignoring Orders (clarification) 
Prussian Divisions that are marching under Orders may also ignore them if within the command span of 
their Army Leader and that Army Leader is acting in an operational role. They must be stacked with the 
Leader only on the OBMT if moving against orders there. 
 
13.4 Out of Command Penalties 
(question) If a Prussian Division does not move can it attack adjacent French units? (Assume its 
command marker is in the other direction.) 
(answer) No, it may only defend unless it passes its initiative check. 
 
15.12 Reorganization Procedure (change): 
Units that are surrounded by enemy units and/or a combination of enemy units and prohibited terrain, are 
NOT reduced to cadre status. If a well-mounted leader cannot get away in this situation, how are enough 
men going to escape to rally a viable unit afterwards? Combat Units in this situation must surrender. 
 
The Scenarios: 
20.1 The Campaign Game (correction): 
French Reinforcements - The Campaign Game ends with Turn 8, October 16. French Reinforcements are 
in command during the first turn of their arrival on the game map. If their entry hex is blocked by either 
enemy units, or enemy zone of influence, then these units may delay their arrival. Or, having delayed 
their arrival for at least one turn, they may enter anywhere on the map edge within their movement 
potential in hexes i.e., one turn after their scheduled arrival, a French infantry unit may come onto the 
map within 5 hexes of its arrival hex. 
 
20.3 Jena Scenario 3 (clarification): 
The Schimmelpfennig Lt. Cavalry brigade may also move if it succeeds an initiative check per the usual 
procedure for Prussian and Saxon Light Cavalry. 
 
Also, players will note that Division Pritzwitz has two cavalry brigades. The Hohenlohe player decides 
which of these will start in Dornberg and which will stay with his division. 


